

Dear Secretary Slater/Administrator Smith:

We have been following closely the pilot MDOT SHA has been conducting along MD-193/University Boulevard with the placement of protected bike lanes. We applaud this innovative project and have seen from the reports of our constituents and first hand how the bike lanes have slowed car traffic without any noticeable traffic congestion. Most importantly, we see evidence of how much safer the road is now for people biking, walking, using wheelchairs, and strollers. Those using the narrow sidewalk are currently several feet away from cars on University Boulevard and can safely and comfortably use that segment of the road to get to transit, walk or bike to all the amenities in downtown Wheaton, including jobs, shopping, the Wheaton Metro stop, restaurants, doctor's offices, as well as having safer access to Northwood High School. We have also heard from the restaurant owners of the outdoor dining area in Wheaton how the bike lanes have generated more business for them during the pandemic.

Since this pilot has been such an overwhelming success, we strongly urge MDOT SHA to continue the pilot lanes beyond November 14 indefinitely; and, while still installed, develop a plan to put in place more permanent infrastructure. For a permanent implementation, we also urge you to extend the bike lanes further east, at least to Dearborn Avenue and the entrance to Eastern Middle School. We also propose that you consider extending the lanes westward to downtown Kensington to extend the multimodal benefits to more residents near downtown Wheaton.

We applaud MDOT SHA's willingness to think outside the box and to study and evaluate road treatments on State Highways that are inclusive of and make it safer for non-automobile users.

We look forward to hearing back from you on this matter.

Signed

Senator Jeff Waldstreicher Senator William Smith Delegate Al Carr Delegate Jared Solomon Delegate Emily Shetty Delegate David Moon Delegate Lorig Charkoudian Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins County Councilmember Nancy Navarro County Councilmember Tom Hucker County Councilmember Tom Hucker County Councilmember Gabe Albornoz County Councilmember Hans Riemer County Councilmember Hans Riemer County Councilmember Evan Glass County Councilmember Will Jawando County Councilmember Andrew Friedson